simplicity and complexity

It’s an interesting process how this blog is helping me to develop my eye, despite the fact that I post much more text than imagery.

I tend to err on the side of minimalism rather than excess, in all things. I prefer my schedule a little empty rather than a little full. I enjoy music but I spend more of my time in quiet. In my home, I’m surrounded mostly with wood and other natural tones. My clothing tends to be simple, and I wear the same small earrings 98% of the time.

My dance costume is anything but minimalist. I don’t have a lot of textile pieces to choose from, but I do have more jewelry than I can wear at once. I create my look anew every time (within certain parameters), such that merely getting dressed and made-up is itself an artistic process. With the sheer quantity of pieces and choices, it could easily become chaotic. What I’m going for is lushness, the body as artistic project, sensuality even in stillness.

costume

Talk to me

