two months

It’s been two months since my partner returned. I had been trying to keep myself warmed up all that day, but by the time he got in at the scheduled late hour (past my bedtime), I was tired and bored with trying to maintain interest, while he had been up for 24 hours and was wiped out from travelling. We decided not to bother and just got ready for bed. But we had been cuddle-deprived and so we spooned for a little while, and that was enough to heat the blood. I was good and wet and he eased into me from behind for some easygoing “gee, it’s good to be back in the same house” sex before we crashed out.

His internal clock was 6 hours ahead of mine, so I expected him to be up early the next day despite the tiring day of travel. I tend towards fatigue and late mornings and guard my sleep jealously; it was a small sacrifice on the altar of love when I told him he could wake me up as early 6:00 to play around. But, as it turned out, I didn’t sleep soundly and by 6:00 I was already awake, after a fashion. We started out easy but ramped up quickly; we had been eyeing the tasty treats on the other side of the glass for months and now were confronted with an all-you-can-eat buffet. We couldn’t even wait for morning light before getting started. Thus began a 9-day run of daily sex.

During these last two months, we’ve had sex an average of over 5 times per week. I still smile and shake my head at the novelty, because for many years 5 would have been an annual average, not a weekly one, and might still have been a little high. (I tend to have a poor memory for these things and I simply don’t recall. My partner, on the other hand, has quite a good memory on the topic, and he made a deliberate effort not to count.)

Last summer when this was completely new, I was cautiously optimistic but I still worried that the change would prove to be temporary. After two months of maintaining a pretty consistent sexual appetite and attitude, I feel less cautious and more optimistic.

And, most importantly, we’re having fun and feeling connected. (And not just in the groinal area.)

Talk to me

